Okay, seriously, excuse the cheesy title. I blame it on my excitement to write an article about one of my passions: spa days.

To me, summer is the season of highly-anticipated girls’ nights in! Rather than running out to a CVS or Target to pick up some last-minute store brand facial masks for the evening, I always prefer to head to the kitchen! You heard me, the kitchen: your kitchen is equipped with all the materials you could ever need for a cheap, DIY facial.

I can personally recommend the two-step milk and rice facial scrub, which I tested out myself today and is exactly as it sounds. Mix powdered rice with milk in a small bowl until it becomes a thick paste, which you can apply directly your face. Wait five to ten minutes before washing this gentle scrub off with cool water! Use this super gentle scrub for “clean”-feeling skin.

This next facial requires three ingredients I’m pretty sure every household has: one banana, a package of oatmeal powder, and honey! Mash up half a cup of banana and add a tablespoon of oatmeal powder and a tablespoon of honey. Apply to the face, and as always, steer clear of the eyes and mouth! Gently massage this scrub onto your face, and remove with cold water after five minutes.

My lastly recommendation uses my favorite “holy” ingredient – yep, you guessed it – coconut oil! Combine a teaspoon of warmed coconut oil (just microwave for 15 seconds, or until slightly mushy) with a cup of mashed pineapple (which you can use a spoon to do). The enzymes in pineapples clear away dead skin cells while the coconut oil has a soothing effect on your skin! When I tried this mask, I kept it on for 15 minutes and used lukewarm water to wash it off.

Additionally, I suggest using a foaming cleanser to wash your face afterwards, especially after using the coconut-pineapple facial! Although coconut oil is incredibly good for your skin, it still is an oil, which may cause you to break out if it is left on your skin.

